While it’s generally not recommended to share your passwords with others, sometimes you need to do so when guests are visiting your home or you have a contractor working on something for your business. .
For this reason, 1Password has introduced a new feature (detailed in this blog post) that allows users of its password manager to share almost anything from their 1Password vault, even if they don’t use the service themselves.
The name of the new tool of the company is Psst! Which stands for Password Protected Sharing Tool and it allows users to generate shareable links from the share menu of their software. By default, these links expire in seven days but you can also choose to let them expire after 30 days, 14 days, one day, one hour, or after a single person has viewed them.
- We’ve put together a list of the best password managers available
- These Are the Best Business Password Managers on the Market
- See also our roundup of the best security keys
1Password users also have the option to allow anyone with the link to view an item in their Vault or to restrict sharing to only those whose email addresses they specified. When a user selects the “Get Link to Share” option in the company’s password manager, they can send the link directly or through any channel they choose. This feature also allows them to share the link directly through their operating system’s built-in share menu.
1 Password PST!
When a recipient opens the shared link in their browser, they will either be taken directly to the shared item’s web view if anyone is allowed to view the link or they will receive an email with a one-time verification code if the link The person sharing initially specified the people they want to share with.
After verification, users who have received a link will see a web view of the shared item exactly as it is in 1Password. This means that if there are additional fields such as notes, security questions or anything else, the recipient will see them as well. If a recipient is also a 1Password user, they will be able to save a copy of the item directly to their vault.
It’s worth noting that Psst! When using, 1Password users are not sharing an original item, but a shared copy that is more like a snapshot of the item as it existed when it was shared. This means that if you share a password with a contractor or guest, they can only see the item that was present when it was shared. If it is changed later, recipients will not be able to see the updated item, only the original copy.
IT administrators concerned about employees sharing passwords can also rest easy using this new feature as all shared items appear in the software’s activity log. Admins will be able to see the name of the shared item with whom it was shared along with their IP address, the date and time it was shared, when the link expires, email addresses of recipients, how many times each recipient shared Items and IP addresses of recipients who viewed an item.
- We’ve also featured the best identity theft protection