Dark Souls is your Ultimate Game of All Time at the Golden Joystick Awards

DMCA / Correction Notice
- Advertisement -

It’s official: Dark Souls is the last game ever, as you voted.

- Advertisement -

As part of the Golden Joystick Awards 2021, we’re celebrating 50 years of gaming with two very special categories for this year’s show: Best Gaming Hardware of All Time and Ultimate Game of All Time.

Now, with all the votes counted up, we know that everything from Software’s awesome and spectacular Odyssey to Lordran’s Depths has earned the right to be called the Ultimate Game of All Time.


Check out the full list of nominees below:

  • Dark Souls (WINNER)
  • Doom (1993)
  • The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild
  • half life 2
  • Minecraft
  • Street Fighter II
  • tetris
  • the last of us
  • super mario 64
  • metal Gear Solid
  • Halo: Combat Evolved
  • Super Mario Bros. 3
  • Grand Theft Auto V
  • door
  • call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare
  • pac value
  • super mario karto
  • space Invaders
  • Sim City (1989)
  • pokemon go

The list, which is ordered in terms of how many votes each game received, shows how many of the all-time classics Dark Souls had to beat in order to earn its crown. In second place, we have one of the most important first-person shooters ever in Doom, while Link’s spectacular open-world adventure in Breath of the Wild managed to take third. You can find out more about how we selected the shortlist for the Ultimate Game of All Time by visiting our explainer.

- Advertisement -

In our feature on Dark Souls Is the Best Game of All Time, Joe Donnelly writes: “We’ll be talking about Dark Souls in another 10 years, and then another 10 years later. In Dark Souls, we’re told That history repeats itself. But in reality, there will never be a game like this again.”

For more on this year’s show, visit golden joystick awards 2021 or follow us Twitter And Facebook,

- Advertisement -

Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox

Recent Articles

Related Stories