Decided it’s time to delete Twitter? Step by Step Guide to Permanently Delete Your Account

- Advertisement -


Is it time to quit Twitter?

- Advertisement -

Of course, a social media platform is a place where you can keep up to date with the latest news, current events, and cultural discussions.

- Advertisement -

But there’s more”doomscroll– you know when you’re scrolling through a feed filled with bad news and you keep scrolling anyway. This was especially difficult to avoid last year when many Americans stayed at home during the COVID-19 pandemic.

And, like Facebook and Instagram, it has faced its fair share of problems with all the controversy, bullying and rising disinformation.

- Advertisement -

If you find yourself ready to un-tweet once and for all, here’s what you can do to permanently delete your account.

ELON MUSK:SpaceX billionaire Tesla to buy Twitter for $44 billion

WHAT DOES IT MEAN:What would Twitter look like if it was run by Elon Musk?

TRUMP AGAIN?:Will Elon Musk let Donald Trump back on Twitter? All signs point to yes.

You must first deactivate Twitter

While Twitter allows you to deactivate your account in the same way that Facebook and Instagram do, it works a little differently. To delete your Twitter account, you must deactivate it first.

To do this, go to “More” on the left side of the screen, then “Settings” and “Privacy”. In the Your Account section, you will see the option to deactivate your account.

You can reactivate your account after 30 days or after 12 months. If you do not choose the reactivation option, your account will be automatically deleted after 30 days.

When deactivated, your username and profile will not appear on the Twitter website or mobile apps. If you notice that your account is reactivating without you using the app, this may be due to third party apps that you have given permission to connect to your Twitter account. Be sure to revoke third party access.

What happens when you delete Twitter?

If you do not sign in to your account within 30 days of deactivating it, it will be permanently deleted. This means you won’t be able to reactivate it after the 30 day window and all your old tweets will be gone.

However, your information may still appear on search engines such as Google and Bing. You should contact the relevant search engine delete this data.

Also, if you still want to keep old tweets, Twitter allows users to download their archive.

Follow Brett Molina on Twitter: @brettmolina23.

Other social media guides:




Credit: www.usatoday.com /

- Advertisement -

Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox

DMCA / Correction Notice

Recent Articles

Related Stories

Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox