How to delete your Netflix viewing history

DMCA / Correction Notice
- Advertisement -


Sharing a Netflix account with friends or family and don’t want them to know the extent of your anime passion? College Roommate Binge-Watching So Many Netflix Shows You Can’t Find a Continue Watching Button for Anyone Yours shows? Netflix’s menu does a good job of serving up a ton of content options, but when you’re sharing with others, all those options can be a little overwhelming. Luckily, the streaming giant makes it easy to delete your viewing history—whether you’re just embarrassed or just want a cleaner menu. Here’s how to delete your Netflix viewing history.

How to Delete Your Netflix History

- Advertisement -

There are many reasons why you might want to clear your Netflix viewing history. Thankfully, the process for doing so is incredibly simple—even if it’s not immediately obvious. Everyone has skeletons streaming in their closet, so go ahead and clean yours.

Phase 1: First, log in to your Netflix account using your browser of choice. Since your viewing history is specific to your profile, you need to make sure that you have selected the correct history if you have multiple users under your login. If you accidentally choose the wrong profile, don’t worry. You can choose another one by using the drop-down menu in the upper-right corner.

Netflix profile selection screen.
advertisement

Phase 2: Next, go to the drop-down menu above in the right corner and select the button labeled accounting.

Netflix screen with Your Account dropdown menu.

step 3: Once there, scroll down Profile and parental controls section, and click on the blue link labeled View Next to watch activity. This will take you to a page showing everything you’ve visited.

Netflix Profile and Parental Controls section.
Daniel Martin/Screenshot
- Advertisement -

step 4: There will be a cancel symbol at the far right of each entry. Hover over the symbol, and you’ll see the text Hide history from view.

Netflix Hide From History button.
Daniel Martin/Screenshot

Clicking this will remove the entry from your history (and, thus, eliminate any impact it may have on your personalized recommendations). However, it may take up to 24 hours for the change to take effect.

Something to keep in mind: For television shows, each episode is listed individually, labeled by season and episode title. to click circle-backslash The icon on a title will only remove that specific episode. But you don’t have to do this tedious task for every episode as a prompt will pop up asking if you want to delete the entire series from your history, which you can do with a single click.

Netflix Hide Shows and Hide Series buttons.
Daniel Martin/Screenshot

Step 5: If you want to delete your entire viewing history in one fell swoop, now you can. If you scroll down to the end of your viewing history, there will be an option hide all. Click on it, then select Yes, Hide All My Viewing Activity On Netflix’s confirmation pop-up. After 24 hours, Netflix will erase your history.

Netflix Hide All Viewing History button.

And that’s all there is to it. Your viewing history, or just your guilty pleasure shows, will be removed from your account.

If you found this article helpful, you can also check out our guide on how to download movies from Netflix. We also have our picks of the best TV shows on Netflix and the best movies on netflix. Happy Streaming!




- Advertisement -

Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox

Recent Articles

Related Stories