How to Permanently Delete Your Facebook Account

DMCA / Correction Notice
- Advertisement -


there is never Bad Time to Delete Your Facebook Account: Chances are good you use it less than before, and every time you log on you’ll get re-heated viral news and lives from two or three distant acquaintances. Get to know about updates. Now, however, seems to be an especially good time to pull the plug.

- Advertisement -

in progress wall street journal stories Those who claim that the company has repeatedly ignored internal research about the various harms caused by its products. It’s been a long time since you thought so much of the world’s internet activity probably shouldn’t be running through a single company. And there is a general understanding that Facebook is probably not so great for society as a whole. At a certain point it’s too much, you know? If you’ve reached that point, here’s how to quit Facebook forever, along with how much it can track you after you’re gone.

how to deactivate your facebook account

Let’s first establish that there are a few things you can do that make it feel like deleting your Facebook account, in fact, is not. Removing apps from your phone? Cathartic, maybe, but functionally useless. Deactivating your Facebook account? Slightly better, in that you mostly disappear from the platform, but it still holds onto all your data, waiting patiently and indefinitely for your return.

advertisement

And look, well, maybe this is the right choice for you; Maybe you want a nicotine patch instead of going cold turkey. There are no wrong answers! To deactivate your account, click the down arrow at the top right of the page when you load Facebook. Click Settings and Privacy, and then Adjustment. From there, hover your eye over the left-hand panel of options, and click your facebook info. Then go back to the central menu, where you can scroll to the bottom Deactivation And deletion. Oh, is that so!

When you click it, you get two advertised options: Deactivate and Remove. It defaults to deactivate, so go ahead and click continue to deactivate account. You’ll need to re-enter your password, which will unlock a page that requires you to give a reason for leaving, and gives you the chance to opt out of Facebook via email (notifications, basically, that a friend has asked you to join). group or some such, even if you have a zombie account) and keep using messenger. Select all that apply, hit that blue Disable button, and call it a day.

- Advertisement -

well almost. Inaction doesn’t accomplish all that much in practice. Messages you send to your friends will still be in their inbox, and you will still appear in their friends list. Posts and comments you make in groups will still be visible to admins. And, again, Facebook will keep all your data forever. All you have to do to reactivate is log back into your account. It’s like writing a big “leaving New York” essay, but continuing to pay exorbitant rent on a nice little bedroom in Astoria.

how to delete your facebook account for real

If you’re ready to make a more serious commitment to sever ties, first take a quick minute to consider whether Facebook has any data on its servers that you want to keep. Maybe you used it as a photo album in the late aughts. Maybe you have messages you want to hold onto. Maybe you made a good post once? If so, how was it?

The point is, it might be worth saving your Facebook data — or turning it off to another service — before you nuke your account. This is not difficult to do, although it may take some time. With the same downward-arrow icon you started earlier, head to Settings and Privacy, Then Adjustment. In that left-hand pane, go to your facebook info. If you want to switch to the place where you keep all that stuff online, hit Transfer a copy of your information, then choose from the nine options it gives you. (It’s Dropbox, Google Photos, Backblaze, that sort of thing. Also: Blogger?) Once you choose a service, you can choose what kind of data you want to transfer and how much of it; For photos, for example, you can set a date range, or select specific albums. They make the decision, connect to the destination service, and initiate the transfer. You may have to go through this process a couple of times if you want the photos to go to one place and post and so on.

You can also choose to take it completely offline by going to download your information. There are 44 categories of data, and you don’t want all of them. (Most people can say goodbye to Facebook without downloading their bug bounty program history.) Take a moment to deselect the ones you won’t remember. set your date range to all the time, set the format HTML so that you can actually parse it when it arrives, make sure you set it media quality drop-down to High, and click create file. Facebook will notify you via email when your download is ready.

and with that! You are ready to delete. Follow the same path for passivity (ie Settings > Settings & Privacy > Your Facebook Information > deactivate and delete) This time, choose delete account, Then continue deleting account. If you want to continue using Messenger, it’ll prompt you to deactivate, and remind you to download your stuff before you leave. Kill delete account, and you need to enter your password and click to continue. And then poof, off you go.

Well, not now. Facebook has a 30-day grace period if you change your mind; Simply log back into your account and click Undelete. The company says it can take up to 90 days to actually delete all of the data on your account, and that it may be holding some of the “backup storage” it keeps on hand for recovery purposes anyway. But that’s about as far removed as you can get.

how to limit facebook tracking

You thought you were done! Your job didn’t work, sorry. This is mostly a reminder that even though you no longer have a Facebook account, Facebook tracks you. This can happen through its wider family of apps like Instagram, WhatsApp, Messenger and Oculus. Or even without any of them, its absurdly wide advertising network gives it insight into the majority of Internet users, whether or not they’ve ever signed up for its social network.

Your options here are very limited, unfortunately. You can request the Digital Advertising Alliance to opt out of certain ad-targeted activity your ad choice venue. You can use a privacy browser like DuckDuckGo. Or you can throw all your electronics into the ocean and embrace a return to nature. Less than that, chances are Facebook will track you one way or another.

Still, deleting your account is a good place to start. And it seems like any time is just as good to do so.


  • The latest on tech, science and more: Receive our newsletter!
  • Rain Boots, Turning Tide, and the Search for a Missing Boy
  • Astronomers prepare to probe Europa’s ocean for life
  • Clearview AI has new tools to identify you in photos
  • Dragon Age And why it sucks to play cult favorites
  • How a Google Geofence Warrant Helped Catch DC Rioters
  • ️ Explore AI like never before with our new database
  • Wired Games: Get the Latest Tips, Reviews, and More
  • Torn among the latest phones? Never fear – check us out iPhone Buying Guide And favorite android phone

.

- Advertisement -

Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox

Recent Articles

Related Stories