Switching between personal and workplace Microsoft Teams accounts may soon be a thing of the past thanks to a new update to the service.
The video conferencing platform is rolling out changes that will allow users to combine accounts of business and consumer teams, hopefully eliminating any unfortunate confusion.
Microsoft says the change will allow for better communication for Teams users around the world, even opening the door to in-person chats over a work network.
United Microsoft Teams
Microsoft noted in an updated Message Center notification, “With this update Team users in your organization will be able to start 1:1 or group chats with Team users who are using their personal accounts and vice versa. “
The feature was first announced by Microsoft in February 2021, but has now entered the rolling out period, which means users will be able to access it soon.
The official Microsoft 365 roadmap entry for the update states, “Team users will be able to chat with team members who are outside of their work network and who have a personal team account.”
“It’s expanding on external access capabilities, enabling Team users to invite any other Federated Teams users for 1:1 or group chats using an email address or phone number and protect their organization’s safety and security.” compliance remains within the policies.”
The update is coming to all Microsoft Teams desktop users around the world, so be sure to keep your program updated to the latest release.
The change is the latest in a series of Microsoft Teams updates as the firm continues to help companies around the world adapt to the new era of hybrid working.
Along with video capabilities, Microsoft Teams also added chat bubbles to its online collaboration tool last year, which means users don’t have to miss private messages sent during video calls. Microsoft has also added this feature to group chats so that everyone can view conversations that take place via text as well as video calls at the same time, allowing everyone to have a meeting at the front of the room. To be allowed to view sent chats. Display in a team room.
- Want to improve your video call? Check out our roundup of the best business webcams and best headsets for conference calls