Nobel Peace Prize won by journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov, critics of Duterte and Putin

DMCA / Correction Notice
- Advertisement -

Philippine journalist Maria Resa speaks at a Manila court in February 2019 after an arrest that drew international condemnation and alleged she was being targeted for criticizing President Rodrigo Duterte.

- Advertisement -

Two journalists who spoke out against harassment have been awarded the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize. maria resa And Dmitry Muratov jointly won the award in recognition of “their courageous fight for freedom of expression in the Philippines and Russia”.


Established in 1895 in the bequest of scientist Alfred Nobel, the Nobel Peace Prize recognizes those who worked towards ending conflict and oppression.

Resa is the first Filipino Nobel laureate. 58-year-old journalist co-founded news site rapper And has been an outspoken critic of President Rodrigo Duterte’s regime, as well as highlighting how social media and fake news are used to manipulate public opinion. In 2020 he was indicted by a Manila court over a rapper article, a ruling by opposition leader and condemned by international bodies including Amnesty International and Reporters Without Borders.

- Advertisement -

Muratov is the editor-in-chief of the Russian newspaper nova gazzetta, described as the most independent news source in Russia for its stance against Vladimir Putin’s regime, exposes government corruption, police violence and the use of the Russian military in Chechnya. The newspaper’s six journalists have been killed since its founding in 1993.

Dmitry Muratov, editor-in-chief of Russian investigative newspaper Novaya Gazeta, takes part in an interview with AFP in Moscow on March 24, 2021

Russian journalist Dmitry Muratov of Novaya Gazeta in Moscow in March 2021.

“Free, independent and fact-based journalism serves to protect against abuse of power, lies and propaganda of war,” said Norwegian Nobel Committee chair Berit Rees-Andersen. This ideal is in a world in which democracy and freedom of the press are facing increasingly adversity.”

The award will be presented on December 10.

this year Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine awarded to American scientists David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian For his discovery of how we sense temperature and touch. NS Nobel Prize in Chemistry awarded to scientists Benjamin List and David WC Macmillan For discovering a ‘green’ way to make molecules. And this Nobel Prize in Literature awarded to Tanzanian writer Abdulrajak Gurnahi.

recent recipient of peace prize Join the World Food Program (WFP), Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed, and activists Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad for their work against the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war.

- Advertisement -

Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox

Recent Articles

Related Stories