Tinder finally adds a Block Contacts feature


Despite the complexities of meeting new people amid the global pandemic, dating apps have shown a recent spike In both download and use. Now, as vaccines for COVID-19 become more widely available, it is likely that this trend will continue.

In other words, Tinder is a “The Uncuffing Season After The Pandemic”, and they are launching a new facility to prepare. Now, users can upload their phone contacts to select certain people they would not like to see on the app, be it an ex, co-worker or family member. According to a survey conducted by Tinder, 40% of people have found an ex-partner on the app, 24% have encountered a family member and one in 10 have also encountered their professor.

Sure, it would be weird to see your ex in the dating market again. But the new feature is more interesting in terms of user safety. For example, if someone has previously encountered a predatory or otherwise abusive person – whether on or off the app – they now have a tool to block them directly on Tinder.

However, instead of creating a simple form where you can enter the abuser’s phone number or email address, Tinder is asking for permission to access the user’s entire contact list. Apparently, this is for ease of use — Tinder even claims it only keeps the contact information of people you’ve blocked, not your entire address book — but users can still can be careful. For years, social apps have used address book uploads as a big data grab from users, with little benefit from friend-finding functionality. Recently, this trend has resurfaced with new apps like Paparazzi and Clubhouse. thank you for the latter stopped Practice in march after user outcry.

Bernadette Morgan, Group Product Manager, Trust & Safety at Tinder, said, “We are introducing Block Contacts as an additional resource that gives members peace of mind by helping them create a worry-free space for new connections. is.” Statement.

Tinder tested the Block Contacts feature in India, Korea, and Japan, finding that members who used the feature blocked an average of about a dozen people.

To use the feature, go to Settings under your profile icon, select “Block contacts”, then allow the app. To block individuals, you cannot rely on whether they were blocked on your phone. You have to select each person you want to block under the “Contacts” tab and then tap on “Block Contacts”.

This user interface makes it easy to block abusers and ex-people, but it’s also designed for people who want to block a large number of people – like everyone in their family or close friend group. This feature is also a huge benefit for those who also use Tinder’s app to cheat.

Tinder is strict about requiring a valid phone number to register, although it is not impossible for people to circumvent the system by registering with a Google Voice number, for example. So, regardless of Tinder’s security features, proceed wisely.

Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox

DMCA / Correction Notice

Recent Articles

Related Stories