Tokyo Olympics opening ceremony: Start time and how to watch


Japan loves fireworks. Expect him to play a big part in the opening ceremony of the Tokyo Olympics.

we’re just a few weeks ago Tokyo OlympicsBut before that comes the opening ceremony, which is always worth watching.

Partly because of the spectacle – spectacular artistic displays that represent the host nation’s culture – but also because of the meme. During the 2016 Olympics we were introduced to the shirtless, greased talents of Tonga’s Pita Taufatofua, who immediately set the internet on fire. he repeated Trick in the Winter Olympics in 2018.

Will he return for the Tokyo Olympics? We don’t know for sure, but there’s as good a reason as any to watch it.


When does the Tokyo Olympics Opening Ceremony begin?

The Tokyo Olympics opening ceremony will take place on Friday, July 23 at 7 a.m. EDT (4 a.m. PDT)..

Let’s break it down further into time zones.

In the UK, that time translates to 12 noon BST on Friday, 23 July.

It is Friday, July 23 at 9 pm AEST in Australia.


Where can I watch the opening ceremony of the Tokyo Olympics?

in America

this year is nbc An all-day broadcast of Olympic coverageincluding the opening ceremony. You will be able to watch it live from coast to coast. NBC’s broadcast will begin at 6:55 a.m. EDT (3:55 a.m. PDT) for the first time in all US time zones.

NBC will also rebroadcast the re-airing program at 7:30 p.m. EDT (4:30 p.m. PDT).

in the UK

The BBC and Eurosport in the UK own the rights to the Tokyo Olympics. Since everyone in the UK has access to the BBC, this would be the easiest way to watch. It will be broadcast live on BBC One and will be available to stream bbc iplayer and the BBC Sport website.

in Australia

Like in the UK, the Tokyo Olympics is available to watch on TV for free. The opening ceremony will be available to watch live on Channel 7 or via 7 plus streaming service.


Where is the Tokyo Olympics Opening Ceremony taking place?

The opening ceremony will take place at the Japan National Stadium aka Olympic Stadium.


What can we expect?

Getty Images-593259002

Shinzo Abe wearing a Mario hat at the closing ceremony of the Rio Olympics.

Usually the opening ceremony of the Olympics celebrates the culture of the host country, which is augmented by certain themes. For example, during the 2008 Beijing Olympics, the theme was unity. These events can be costly, often costing more than $100 million.

Japanese opening ceremonies have traditionally celebrated ancient Japanese culture, but previous Prime Minister Shinzo Abe dressed as Mario during the handover at the Rio Olympic closing ceremony, so many expect Nintendo’s mascot to be an opening ceremony. The event will appear more dedicated to Japan’s influence on technology and popular culture.

Can we finally see Naruto at the Olympic Opening Ceremony? We can dream…

Producer Marco Balich has also said that COVID-19 will somehow be referred to during the event.

Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox

DMCA / Correction Notice

Recent Articles

Related Stories